Steve Benkovic awarded National Medal of Science

You are here: Home News & Events News Archives 2010 News October 2010 News Steve Benkovic awarded National Medal of Science

Main Content

Steve Benkovic awarded National Medal of Science

Stephen J. Benkovic, Evan Pugh Professor of chemistry and holder of the Eberly family chair in chemistry, is awarded the National Medal of Science by President Barack Obama in the East Room of the White House on Nov. 17, 2010. Photo Credit: Andy Colwell

15 October 2010

Steve Benkovic, Evan Pugh Professor and Eberly Chair in Chemistry, has been named by President Obama as a recipient of the National Medal of Science. Benkovic is one of ten eminent researchers to receive the award in 2010.

“The extraordinary accomplishments of these scientists, engineers, and inventors are a testament to American industry and ingenuity,” President Obama said.  “Their achievements have redrawn the frontiers of human knowledge while enhancing American prosperity, and it is my tremendous pleasure to honor them for their important contributions.”

The National Medal of Science was created by statute in 1959 and is administered for the White House by the National Science Foundation.  Awarded annually, the Medal recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to science and engineering. Nominees are selected by a committee of Presidential appointees based on their extraordinary knowledge in, and contributions to, the biological, behavioral/social, and physical sciences, as well as chemistry, engineering, computing, and mathematics.

To see the full press release, CLICK HERE.