Alumni News & Events

You are here: Home Alumni & Giving Alumni News & Events

Main Content

Alumni News

Alexa Dembek (Ph.D. 1991) received a 2015 Eberly College of Science Outstanding Science Alumni Award. Dr. Dembek is the Director of Science & Innovation at DuPont.  The Board of Directors of the Eberly College of Science Alumni Society established this award to recognize alumni who have a record of significant professional achievements in their field and who are outstanding role models for students in the college.

Chad Mirkin (Ph.D. 1989) has been awarded the inaugural Raymond and Beverly Sackler Prize in Convergence Research by the U.S. National Academy of Sciences for his pioneering research on spherical nucleic acids.  Prof. Mirkin is the George B. Rathmann Professor of Chemistry and professor of medicine, chemical and biological engineering, biomedical engineering, and materials science at Northwestern University.  A member of the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, and the National Academy of Medicine, he is the recipient of more than 100 national and international awards.  Prof. Mirkin also serves on the President's Council of Advisors on Science and Technology.

Paul Shepson (Ph.D. 1982) and Ken Knappenberger (Ph.D. 2005) visited Penn State as Kohn Lecturers.  Prof. Shepson is currently Director of the Division of Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences at the National Science Foundation.  Prof. Knappenberger is Professor of Chemistry at Penn State and specializes in physical chemistry and nanomaterials.  The Kohn Lectureship was established by Prof. Harold Kohn (Ph.D. 1971) to host Penn State alumni who are distinguished and nationally and internationally renowned scientists, for the purpose of developing broad interests in the chemical sciences through their lectures.

Rick Silverman (B.S. 1968) visited Penn State to give a lecture, "Drug Discovery: Ingenuity or Serendipity?" in the Penn State Forum.  Prof. Silverman is the Patrick G. Ryan/Aon Professor of Chemistry at Northwestern University.  He is the inventor of Lyrica (pregabalin), marketed worldwide for the treatment of epilepsy, neuropathic pain, fibromyalgia, and (in Europe) for generalized anxiety disorder.  Prof. Silverman has received numerous awards for both research and teaching at Northwestern.

Cary Supalo (Ph.D. 2010) was recently honored at the White House for his work in enabling students who are blind and visually impaired to study physical sciences at the high school and college levels.  Dr. Supalo is the founder of Independence Science, a company that connects students and teachers of students with disabilities with accessible technology for success in STEM fields.

Yaroslava Yingling (Ph.D. 2002) has been promoted to Professor in the Department of Materials Science at North Carolina State University.  She continues her connection to Penn State through participation in the Center for Lignocellulose Structure & Formation.  Her role is to predict the secondary and three-dimensional structure of proteins in cellulose synthase complexes through computational modeling.