Penn State Chemistry to host NSF-funded IONiC Workshop

You are here: Home News & Events News Archives 2013 News June 2013 News Penn State Chemistry to host NSF-funded IONiC Workshop

Main Content

11 June 2013

The Chemistry Department is hosting 20 inorganic chemistry faculty from across the country at a workshop entitled "VIPEr: Solid State Materials for Alternative Energy Needs."  IONiC, the Interactive Online Network of Inorganic Chemistry, is organizing the June 23-29 workshop.  IONiC supports faculty interaction through its web home, VIPEr (Virtual Inorganic Pedagogical Electronic Resource,

The purpose of the workshop is to bring together participants with varying inorganic subdisciplinary expertise and allow them to focus on recent research developments in solid-state inorganic chemistry.  Four chemists, Professors Ray Schaak (Penn State University), Amy Prieto (Colorado State University), Tom Mallouk (Penn State University) and Kyoung-Shin Choi (University of Wisconsin), will present talks on their current research.  Workshop participants will then create Learning Objects (LOs) about the research to bring back to their institutions and implement in their classrooms.  The LOs will also be posted on the VIPEr site and be accessible to the entire chemistry community.

The conference is organized by IONiC Leadership Council members Professors Maggie Geselbracht (Reed College), Barbara Reisner (James Madison University), Hilary Eppley (DePauw University), Betsy Jamieson (Smith College) and Joanne Stewart (Hope College).  "The outstanding solid state inorganic chemists at Penn State University made the choice for the site for this workshop easy," says Professor Reisner.  "The participants are eager to travel to State College and see the wonderful facilities. The department has been very gracious hosts in preparing for the workshop and I am confident it will be extremely productive."  The workshop is sponsored by a grant to IONiC from the National Science Foundation.

Four Penn State graduate students selected to participate in IONiC Workshop

Angela Jovanovic (Dr. Ben Lear's group), An Nguyen (Dr. Tom Mallouk's group), Megan Strayer (Dr. Tom Mallouk's group), and Dimitri Vaughn (Dr. Ray Schaak's group) have been selected to participate in the NSF funded workshop.