Chemistry Graduate Students Named NSF Graduate Fellows

You are here: Home News & Events News Archives 2017 News March 2017 News Chemistry Graduate Students Named NSF Graduate Fellows

Main Content

20 March 2017

Chemistry graduate students Joseph Dawson, Jennifer Miller, and Kyle Munson have been named National Science Foundation Graduate Fellows. Honorable mentions were received by Kyra Murrell and Alyssa Rosas. Congratulations to all five students for their outstanding achievements.

The National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP) is the country’s oldest fellowship program that directly supports graduate students in various STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) fields. Since 1952, NSF has funded over 50,000 Graduate Research Fellowships out of more than 500,000 applicants.  Currently, 42 Fellows have gone on to become Nobel laureates, and more than 450 have become members of the National Academy of Sciences.  In addition, the Graduate Research Fellowship Program has a high rate of doctorate degree completion, with more than 70 percent of students completing their doctorates within 11 years.